We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We would also like to set certain functional and advertising cookies to help us improve our site. We won't set optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

You can click "Accept all cookies" below to accept use of all cookies on this website, or select "Manage cookies preferences" to choose which cookies we can use. For more information about the cookies we use, see our Cookie Notice 



The route to qualifying as a solicitor in England and Wales has changed. In September 2021, the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) introduced the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) which will eventually replace the current Legal Practice Course (LPC).

On this page, we have addressed some of the common questions around the SQE to ensure you have all the information you need to make an informed decision about your route to qualification. 



What is the SQE?

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) is a single, rigorous assessment for all aspiring solicitors.

The SQE is the examination part of the route to qualification to become a solicitor in England and Wales.

Unlike the LPC, the SQE is not a course or study programme, but two separate sets of examinations, or assessments.

  • The SQE1 Assessment tests functioning legal knowledge.
  • The SQE2 Assessment tests oral (advocacy and client interviewing) and written legal skills.
  • You need to pass both SQE1 and SQE2 to become a solicitor.


Still got a question on the SQE? Get in touch

Enquire Now